Uncategorized

Favorite fast food! 

One of my very favorite quick dinners is Japanese curry! I can almost always find all of he ingredients in my freezers and cupboards and start to finish is less than 40 min.  

 
The recipe is usually never the same, it always depends on what I have handy. Today’s run consisted of

  • Chicken thighs cut into chunks 
  • 1 medium zucchini sliced 1/4″ thick
  • 6 small potatoes diced
  • 1/2 onion sliced as you prefer 
  • 1/2 bag of frozen mixed vegetables (I happened to have California blend today) 

I start by cooking my chicken in a large non stick wok style frying pan. You could add a small amount of butter or olive oil if need be but I didn’t need to. 

After the chicken is about 3/4 done, (just slightly pink in the very center) I begin adding my onions and potatoes. Using the oil released from the chicken thighs I brown the potatoes over medium high heat. After about 5 minutes I then add my zucchini. Let this mixture cook over medium for about another 7-10 min until the potatoes are done. 

Then comes the fun part!  

 
I use only half the box of seasoning and about 5 cups of water. Add the water first and bring it to a low simmer, then add the curry (be sure to break it up first). Be sure to stir it well to incorporate all the seasoning chunks! Then once it’s all mixed pout in your half bag of frozen veggies, cover, and simmer for about 15 min.  

 
I like putting my curry over rice though it’s not a requirement. So I started my rice cooker at the same time I started my curry. I chose a purple wild rice this time  

 
I found it in the bulk bins at whole foods. I enjoy trying new grains and rices that way and then I’m not stuck with a huge bag of something if I don’t like it. 

  
Just to throw this out there we have several different kinds of curry in our house, I don’t have a brand preference. But I have noticed that the Japanese curry version of hot is not exactly what I would consider hot. I would classify it more as a mild flavor. So don’t be afraid when selecting a curry. You can find them at your local Asian Grocer or online. Be brave and expand your cultural food repertoire! You never know you might find a new fast work night go to! Thanks for reading! Have a great day and make on makers!

Leave a comment